top of page

What Do You Need To Get Married in Alaska?

Getting married in Alaska? You might be wondering what the requirements and laws are for getting married in Alaska and we have the answers for you!

So what do you need to get married in Alaska? In order to get married in Alaska, you must be 16 years old with a parents written consent and pay $60 for a marriage certificate. There is no residency rule or a blood test. However, there is a 3-day waiting period before you can pick up your license and have your ceremony.

Those details are the basic information you need to know if you want to get married in Alaska. However, if you’d like more information, I’ve provided further details below.


Table of ContentsToggle

At What Age Can You Get Married in Alaska?

To get married in Alaska, both parties must be 18 years or older and they will not be required to provide parental consent.

Couples who are 16 or 17 are permitted to marry with written parental consent from both parents. If one of those parents is a sole guardian, they must provide a copy of their divorce decree or death certificate.

Anyone under the age of 16 is not permitted to marry unless there is a court order.

The only exception to these rules is for members of the United States armed forces. People under 18 years old who are in active duty are permitted to marry without parental consent. However, they must provide military papers, proving their active duties status in the military.

What Documents Do You Need to Get Married in Alaska?

In order to obtain a marriage license in the state of Alaska, you will need to provide some documentation to prove who you are.

You may need to bring a birth certificate to prove your age. If you are right at the legal age, I would recommend bringing your birth certificate with you just in case.

Additionally, you will need a picture ID such as a drivers license or passport with your full legal name.

If you are under 18 and want to get married, you need a parental consent form that is signed by both parents. If you are under 18 but are currently in the United States military, you do not need parental consent but will will need military forms to prove your active duty status.

Lastly, if you have been divorced for less than 60-days, you will need to provide a copy of your divorce decree.

How Much Does a Marriage License Cost in Alaska?

The cost of a marriage license in Alaska is $60. Unlike other states, Alaska has one cost for the entire state instead of having each county determine their own pricing.

Once you have submitted your application, you have one-year to pick up your certificate. If you do not pick up your marriage license within one-year, there is no refund or extension.

If you would like to see the actual marriage licence application, here is the PDF form.

Can You Get Married At the Courthouse in Alaska?

Alaska does permit courthouse weddings as seen in this official government documentation.

Ceremonies may be scheduled at the Courthouse. Ceremonies are by appointment only, at the court, and only during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.). Cost is $25.00. You must bring two witnesses with you to the ceremony. source

Is There a Waiting Period to Get Married in Alaska?

In order to get married in Alaska, there is a 3-day waiting period from the time you submit your application to the time your license is issued and you can officially have a wedding ceremony. Both parties must complete and sign the form before it will be issued.

Additionally, your marriage license must be used within 90-days from the time it was issued and is good for anywhere within the state of Alaska or Alaskan waters.

Who Can Marry You in Alaska?

According to AK Stat § 25.05.261 (2016), the following persons are permitted to officiate weddings in the state of Alaska:

  1. a minister, priest, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state

  2. a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army

  3. the principal officer or elder of recognized churches or congregations that traditionally do not have regular ministers, priests, or rabbis, anywhere within the state

  4. a marriage commissioner or judicial officer of the state anywhere within the jurisdiction of the commissioner or office

  5. before or in any religious organization or congregation according to the established ritual or form commonly practiced in the organization or congregation

Can You Legally Marry your Cousin in Alaska?

The laws across the United States differ greatly regarding whether cousins can marry or not.

In Alaska, according to AK Stat § 25.05.021 (2016), “the parties to the proposed marriage are more closely related to each other than the fourth degree of consanguinity, whether of the whole or half blood”.

Additionally, same-sex marriages are illegal in Alaska.

How Long Do You Have to Be Together for Common Law Marriage in Alaska?

The state of Alaska does not recognizance a marriage unless there is a marriage license. Therefore, there is no common law marriage in Alaska, no matter how many years the couple has been together.

In order for their relationship to be view as a marriage and given the benefits of married status, they must apply for and be issued a marriage certificate in the state of Alaska.

Disclosure: It is almost impossible for me to keep up with changing state and county marriage license requirements. The information provided in this article should be used for guidance only and not as legal advice. Please contact your local probate office or visit the Alaska Public Health website for more information.

10 views0 comments
kristin-the-wedding-blogger-2020-300x300.png

Hi, I’m Kristin. While I haven’t found my Prince Charming yet, I’ve been dreaming of getting married for a long long time. I started this site as a place to record all the things I’ve found and researched in preparation for my own wedding someday. I can’t wait to share it all with you!

bottom of page